A Day in the Life with Thomas at nine months

post featured image
The following content may contain affiliate links. When you click and shop the links, we receive a commission.

I thought it would be fun to put together a blog post about a day in my life, since I always find reading them so interesting. I also think it will be fun to look back on this post in 10 years when Thomas is is 10 years old, and remember the earliest days. So that’s what I’m sharing today!

I used to work 50-60 hours a week (80 at one point!) and that is not the case anymore! Being a mom is the best thing that’s ever happened to me, and it’s just not possible to work as much as I used to, and that’s okay! I keep reminding myself that this time of life will FLY by and I’m SO grateful that I’m able to spend so much time with Thomas during such a fun phase since I now work for myself.

Below is what a typical day looks like with Thomas at 9 months old. I drafted this before we had a nanny so this has changed a bit, but this is what it looked like when I was trying to balance being a mom, working out, doing stuff around the house and working. Now that we have a nanny from 8-2 each day, Tommy is able to head into the office earlier and I can get more work done between his first and second nap! We’re so so so grateful for Bre, our nanny, and Thomas adores her!

A Day In My Life as a Mom

A Day In My Life as a Mom

As a note: I don’t always wake up at 6AM, but I try to so I can have a little quiet time.


Wake-up, chug a glass of water, make a cup of Nespresso, head into my office to get an hour of work done.


I get Thomas out of his crib, never past seven. Sometimes he wakes up early but he stays in there until 7 and just plays in the dark. It’s kind of hilarious to watch him on the monitor. I nurse him in our bedroom around 7:15 and we all have family/coffee time together in bed. This is one of my favorite times of the day!


I make a piece of toast with peanut butter (Costco has the best PB of all time) for my pre-workout snack and eat that while I pump if necessary (it was on this day!). Sometimes I also work on my laptop while I pump. Then I put on my workout clothes.


Workout — usually a 30 min Peloton bootcamp or a run. I try to do a five minute core class and a five minute stretching class after my main workout! While I stretch, I upload my workout to Strava. Tommy feeds Thomas breakfast while I work out.

Sometimes I’ll run with Thomas, which has become SO special. I love this jogging stroller.


After my workout, I snag a quick breakfast, almost always a Daily Harvest smoothie these days – it’s quick and helps cool me down! I nurse Thomas at 9:15 and put him down for a nap at 9:30.  Get 3 free Daily Harvest cups in your first order with this link & promo code TERI.

9:30 – 10:00

Shower and quickly get ready for the day. I always do my hair & makeup, even though I work from home since I just feel better when I do. I also get dressed in real clothes every day – I save athleisure for the weekends since I’ve learned I don’t really love athleisure in the warmer months! While I get ready I’ll listen and reply to Voxers from my Beautycounter team.


Sit down to work in my office! I’ll review things that Hannah has worked on and catch up on anything that needs immediate attention, e.g. emails from brands, sponsored content deadlines, etc.


Thomas wakes up sometime between 10:45 – 11:00. I get him up, nurse, take him on a walk (in this stroller), and make lunch for both of us around 11:45. Tommy gets home a few minutes later and we all have lunch together.


While Tommy is home, I do some house stuff (laundry, prep for dinner,) and work a little bit more.


Nurse at 1:20, and then Thomas goes down for a nap from 1:45-3:30. (This nap varies…sometimes it’s a little over an hour and sometimes it’s almost two hours.)


While Thomas naps, I grind out work. This is typically my longest stretch and I’ll try to power through as much as I can.


When Thomas gets up, we play – he LOVES everything we’ve gotten in Lovevery play kits. If I have a recipe to test, we do that together in the kitchen. Sometimes we’ll go on a short walk, other times we sit on the porch and sometimes we FaceTime my parents in Utah. It just depends on the day.


I nurse Thomas again at 4:30 and we just hang out until Tommy gets home. Sometimes I’ll stick him in his bouncer while I prep things for dinner or fold laundry.


Feed Thomas dinner. He’s currently LOVING salmon and avocado.


We go on a family walk when Tommy gets home. Thomas LOVES his stroller and usually babbles a lot while we walk. It’s another favorite time of day!


Now for Thomas’s favorite time of day: bath time! After his bath, I nurse him again or give him a bottle and put him to bed around 6:30.

6:30 – 7:30

Dinner! Once Thomas is down, Tommy and I make dinner together and catch up on our day. This particular day I made pineapple salsa crockpot chicken tacos. After we clean up dinner, Tommy usually heads to the golf course from 7:30-8:30 and during that time I work if I have something pressing, read, call my parents or one of my brothers, or watch one of “my shows.” (This Is Us or The Undoing)


After Tommy gets home we watch a show together. Right now we’re watching Bosch (a recommendation from the my FB group) and we are ADDICTED.


Until we started Bosch, I went to bed around 10:15. But lately, I’ve been staying up until about 11:30-12 to watch Bosch and it’s killing me the next morning. So…. I need to remedy that soon, ha!

Anddd that’s it! Does this look anything like a day in your life? Let me know in the comments!

Shop the Post

terilyn signatureterilyn signature

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.